The Authority is funded through appropriations approved by Parliament each financial year (a financial year runs from 1 July to 30 June).

The government is reimbursed for the cost of funding the Authority appropriations through a levy on industry participants.

The levy is collected in accordance with detailed formulae set out in the Electricity Industry (Levy of Industry Participants) Regulations 2010.

The levy also funds the electricity efficiency programmes delivered by the Energy Efficiency and Conservation Authority (EECA).