The Board is responsible for promoting a competitive, reliable and efficient electricity industry for the long term-benefit of consumers.

The Electricity Authority's role in the electricity industry

Although appointed in response to nominations, in their official capacity, Board members do not represent the interests of any particular group and act independently.

Members are recommended for appointment on the basis of ensuring a spread of experience and capability relating to the electricity industry, consumer issues and business generally.

Dr. Brent Layton (Chairperson)

Brent Layton

Dr. Brent Layton

Dr Layton is a former senior fellow and chief executive of the New Zealand Institute of Economic Research (NZIER).

He has been a director or chair of organisations in sectors as diverse as banking and finance, health, scientific research, electricity, food processing, transport and information technology.

As a consultant prior to joining the Authority, Dr Layton's work has spanned macro and microeconomics and corporate finance. Much of his work has involved regulatory economics and responses to regulatory change.

In 2009, Dr Layton chaired the Ministerial Review of the governance and performance of the electricity market.

Susan Paterson ONZM

Susan Paterson

Susan Paterson

Susan is a pharmacist and MBA graduate from London Business School.

She has senior management experience in a number of companies in New Zealand, and during a decade in the USA and Europe, where she was also a strategy consultant with Boston-based Index Group.

Susan was project director for the Wholesale Electricity Market development Group (WEMDG) in the early 90s, a director of EECA and spent over 8 years on the Transpower Board from 1999.

Susan has many years’ board experience and holds a number of directorships and board positions. Current board roles include:

  • Chair of Theta Systems Ltd
  • Chair of the Home of Cycling Charitable Trust
  • Chair of Steel and Tube Holdings Ltd
  • Goodman Property Trust
  • Les Mills NZ Ltd
  • Sky Network TV Ltd
  • Arvida Group Ltd
  • Tertiary Education Commission 
  • NZ Golf 

Allan Dawson

Allan Dawson

Allan Dawson

Allan is the current Customer Manager for New Zealand Trade and Enterprise.

He was formerly the Chief Executive for the Independent Market Operator in Western Australia, and the Energy Market Company in Singapore, and worked on the development of New Zealand electricity industry rules and arrangements in the 1990s.

He has chaired the Association of Power Exchanges, and two bodies in Western Australia: the Market Advisory Committee for the Wholesale Electricity Market and the Gas Advisory Board.

He brings strong governance, leadership, communication and relationship management skills, and experience in roles that directly interface with energy regulators.

Sandra Gamble

Sandra Gamble

Sandra Gamble

Sandra is currently a non-executive director, with roles as an Independent Advisor to the Audit and Risk Committee at Sydney Metro, and Director of the Woodville Alliance, as well as Chair of its Audit and Risk Committee.

She was formerly the General Manager for Business Strategy and Resilience for the Sydney Water Corporation, where she held various committees Chair and Executive Convenor positions, and a director of Save the Children Australia.

She is an electrical engineer with significant experience working in the energy and water sectors, and brings strong leadership, communication and relationship management skills.

Mark Sandelin

Mark Sandelin

Mark Sandelin

Mark Sandelin is a Partner at law firm MinterEllisonRuddWatts.  He has over 30 years’ experience as a commercial litigator.  

He also has significant corporate governance experience having served on the MinterEllisonRuddWatts Board for 16 years (6 years as Executive Chair).  Mark is also Deputy Chair of Fairway Resolution Ltd which is a crown owned entity.  

He is Deputy Chair of Auckland Grammar School and has been on the Board for the past 7 years.

Lana Stockman

Lana Stockman

Lana Stockman

Lana has recently returned to New Zealand from Australia, where she was Vice President Regulation at Aurizon Network, a top-50 ASX listed company offering rail and road based freight and infrastructure solutions.  She was also a General Manager at Energy Australia, a board member of the Electricity Retailers Association of Australia, and a member of the Ministerial Advisory Council on smart meters in Victoria.  

Lana also has experience in the New Zealand electricity industry, including as an advisor to the Electricity Authority and its predecessor.  She is degree qualified in both engineering and finance and coupled with a broad energy market experience, brings fresh thinking, and strong leadership, communication and relationship management skills.


Terms of appointment

Brent Layton and Susan Paterson have been reappointed for five-year terms effective from 1 November 2015.

Allan Dawson and Sandra Gamble have been appointed for five-year terms effective from 18 April 2017.

Mark Sandelin and Lana Stockman have been appointed for five-year terms effective from 6 June 2017.